Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Planet Monitoring System Using Sensors

Status
Not open for further replies.

qmelis

Hello all,

I'm an EE student working on my senior project, but my group and I are still in the design stage. We're designing a planet monitoring system that measures moisture, sunlight, temperature, and pH, cataloging this information in a database, and providing an interface that allows users to easily use this info to improve their gardening techniques.

We have a few questions that we've developed to help us pare down our vision, and I'd be really grateful if any of you could answer some or all of them. Feel free just to address whichever question strikes your fancy. (Hopefully, there is a question that does.)

Thank you all very much.

Engineering Questions

How will we deal with the effects of temperature on the pH measurement?

What are some ways to provide waterproofing?

What are acceptable margins of error for our sensor measurements?

What government licenses or regulations should be consulted?

What interface would be best in providing the customer with data?

Will we provide simultaneous measurements or provide them one by one through a switching mechanism?

hi qm,
I assume that it will be soil aka dirt in which you are measuring the pH.? if so, you would need to measure the soil temperature.
If you are collecting all the data using a suitable interface to a PC it would be easy to use the PC for any calculations.