Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PICs and DAC/ADC and other basic questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChemE

As you all know I am very new to PICs and programming but I feel that I have learned a lot very quickly.

Jay.Slovak's newbie guide to PICs is excellent and am grateful that he posted this.

Up until today I assumed that digital to analog (DAC) were interchangeable with analog to digital (ADC)... after reading the PICmicro Mid-Range MCU Family Reference Manual I do not believe this to be true. So...

• Am I right in saying that some PICs have only ADC pins?

• When the ADC pins are active they are inputs only and can not output an analog signal?

• So if I would like to have a PIC output 6 different analog signals to 6 potentiometers what will be the best way to accomplish this?

• Where can I find DACs and what ones would you suggest?

I just ordered a P16pro40 I hope to start building a prototype of my idea soon. Thank you all inadvance for the help!

I think some few PIC's have DACs. I could be wrong. Keep in mind, with a low pass filter ANY PWM output can be used as a DAC with an output buffer. Why would you 'output' an analog signal to a potentiometer?

Am I right in saying that some PICs have only ADC pins?
Not really, because ADC pins can usually be configured as digital IO pins instead.
When the ADC pins are active they are inputs only and can not output an analog signal?
Correct!