Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC18F458

Status
Not open for further replies.

killivolt

Working out of a book; I am at a point the code provided does not seem to work right.

I'm a noob; I'm also using MPLAB's simulator. I run this code; but it skips my "switch" case statements?

What do you think is out of order.

Code:
Write A PIC 18 program to read RB0 and RB1 bits issue ASCII character to PD according to the following table:

RB1                          RB0
0                             0        send '0' to PORTD ( notice ASCII '0' is 0x30) "I got mixed up here."
0                             1         send '1' t0 PORTD
1                             0         send '2' to PORTD
1                             1          send '3' to PORTD

#include <p18f458.h>
void main(void)
  {
     unsigned char z;    
     TRISB = 0xFF;                                          //make Port B an input
     TRISD = 0;                                                //make Port D an output

{
          z = PORTB;                                           //read Port B
          z = z  & 0x30;                                              //mask the unused bits

switch (z)
       {
            case (0):                                              // issue ASCII  0
            {
              PORTD = '0';       
              break;
            }
            case (1):                                              //issue ASCII    1
            {
              PORTD = '1';
              break;