Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC16F887 misreads serial data. Timing issue?

Status
Not open for further replies.

iNfraNe

Hello guys!

This is my first time on this forum and in need of some help.

I've been trying to read incoming MIDI serial data (31250 kbps, start bit, 8 data bits, stop bit) on the RB5 pin. The MIDI data is connected via an optocoupler (6N137) directly to the pin, which is pulled up by the weak-pull-up feature built into the pic. The PIC runs on either an external crystal (8MHz, 22pF caps) or the internal 8MHz oscillator.

In the software, I poll the RB5 pin until it is low, then wait 48 usec (start bit + 16 usec to reach the middle of the first bit), read the bit, store it and wait the appropriate amount of time for the next bit. After storing 8 bits, I check for the presence of the stop bit and then the program goes into a stall.

With the debug feature of the PicKit2 I've been able to read the stored data. I am sending this midi message:
1011cccc 0nnnnnnn (where c = the midi channel number, n = CC number. I've left out the start/stop bit here for ease of viewing)
And the computer reads this message perfectly, so the sending part works.

However, when I look at the stored value for the serial data, it is not correct. By changing the value for c and for n, I've managed to decipher what it IS recording and come to the following conclusion:

It records the bits too slow!
Code:
scccc1101ssnnnnnnn0s
 1 234 56 78