Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pic16f877a CCP1-LCD

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hi Guys

Hay I’m fairly new to all this programming but have been reading some threads on here and have read the MPlab tutorial so have a basic idea on how to start my programming project. So please be patient if I ask stupid questions :).

So my set up I’m using
Chip: PIC16F877A
External Clock: using 8mhz crystal
Prototyping board scrounged from college
Software: MPLab IDE

(Please ask if you require further details)

Now I have a signal from an oscillator which varies roughly from 100hz to 1500hz. I wish to use the CCP on the Pic to sample the changing frequency of the oscillator. I then wish it to display values on a LCD screen.

Now the questions so brace your self:

How do I go about setting up (producing code) so that I can use the CCP on the pic to sample my frequency?
Is there any demo code that i could use and edit for my purposes or a link to a thread on here or website that can point me guide me on how to use this feature on the pic. I have read the Data sheet for the device but as I previously mentioned I am a beginner to PIC chip world.

Now with the LCD its pretty much the same question is there any code available or guidance on how to set this up with my PIC?