Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC16F84 capacity question

Status
Not open for further replies.

timtalk

I'm new to microcontrollers and am doing a bit of self training on how they work while building a small home project. My question I'm sure has a simple answer somewhere but i'm unable to find it. I'm using PIC C as a compiler, is there a simple way to know how much programming this microcontroller can handle? I.e. I'm guessing that if I wrote a 2200 line program for it that it would probably not fit. Is there a way to tell how many bytes a program will be and how many bytes the microcontroller can handle?

timtalk said:
I'm new to microcontrollers and am doing a bit of self training on how they work while building a small home project. My question I'm sure has a simple answer somewhere but i'm unable to find it. I'm using PIC C as a compiler, is there a simple way to know how much programming this microcontroller can handle? I.e. I'm guessing that if I wrote a 2200 line program for it that it would probably not fit. Is there a way to tell how many bytes a program will be and how many bytes the microcontroller can handle?

correct me if i'm wrong on this..

The PIC instructions are 14bit wide..they call it 1 word size..now when you look at the specs of the PIC, they are in terms of the number of words of program memory..So lets take PIC16F73. It has 4KWords. So that means you can write 4096 different instructions (assembly).