Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC16F688: debug possible? PicKit 2 vs PicKit 3 vs MPLAB ICD 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gordito

Hi, i am planning to use a PIC16F688 for a project. I am also looking into getting a programmer + debugger for it. I am new to the PICs and somewhat confused about a few things i've read:

1) Do i really need to use a PIC16F688-ICD version pic in order to be able to do in-circuit-debugging, or is there a way i can use the production version pic?

The PIC16F688 is classified under the 'required header' section in the header spec document. The section has the following notice which seems to say i need to find the -ICD version:

Some devices have no built-in debug circuitry. Therefore, special ICE/ICD versions of
these devices are required for debug tool operation.
Currently available headers and their associated ICE/ICD devices are shown below by
supported device.

Mouser doesn't have the -ICD equivalent, a bummer since i was going to buy everything there...

2) What are the major differences between MPLAB 3 and PicKit 2 or 3? There is a big price difference and i fail to see the differences, especially debug wise. In which case would MPLAB ICD 3 be better than one of the PicKits?

3) I've read that picKit 2, but not PicKit 3, has a logic analyzer (4 or 5 lines i believe).
Is this usable for any digital logic projet, even those who don't have pics? This is a nice bonus feature if it's possible...

Thanks for your time.

Hi,