Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC Timing

Status
Not open for further replies.

baberjaved

I started programming 8051 and i calculated exact timing delays by using basic maths when i knew the crystal speed. For example when using a 11.059 crystal the time for a single instruction came out be 1.085x10exp-11. So i could generate exact delays by using this
How can i generate such exact timing delays in PIC (dsPIC) to be specific? What is the time for a single instruction in PIC? How can i generate these exact timing delays in C for pic's?

The datasheet will tell you the exact timings (I've never used dsPIC's), but for 16F series devices the timing is 1/4 of the clock speed. So a 16F running at 4MHz takes 1uS per instruction, apart from branch instructions, which takes 2 instruction cycles.

Just as an aside. No professional programmer worth his salt would ever use instruction cycles as a method of generating delays. It is fraught with perils too numerous to mention. If you want to distinguish yourself among your peers use the onboard timers for delays both short and long. In short don't program like a weenie.

Ontopic portion:

Usually for C source that require critical timing, this needs to be done in assembly. You can't really guarantee how many cycles the C compiler will use to design your function written in C. I've never used a PIC C compiler, but in gcc for the AVR there's the __asm__() directive which will let you hard code assembly into your C.