Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC Programming, where do I start??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Electric Rain

I'll keep this quick. There are many many of my projects that I've thought up of that I need to use pics for. But I have no experience whatsoever in PIC programming. Nor do I even have a programmer yet! So could someone help me out in the learning part (you know, a good book, a good website...) of it and suggest a good, affordable, (<$50) universal pic programmer please? Thanks a lot. :)

Rain

Electric Rain said:
I'll keep this quick. There are many many of my projects that I've thought up of that I need to use pics for. But I have no experience whatsoever in PIC programming. Nor do I even have a programmer yet! So could someone help me out in the learning part (you know, a good book, a good website...) of it and suggest a good, affordable, (<$50) universal pic programmer please? Thanks a lot. :)

Rain

Have a look at http://www.winpicprog.co.uk, for programming sofware, circuits of programmers, and PIC tutorials. As I've already mentioned loads of times, I personally recommend the P16PRO40 programmer - which is simply a varient of the enhanced David Tait design.

From a novice's (me) point of view - you'll need a programmer which is the hardware that you plug the PIC in to and that connects it to your computer. There are a zillion variations, so it seems, and many of them quite good based on comments.