Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC programmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

javed

I have a question about the PIC programmer

there is written, that the PIC that is used is 16F83, 16C84 and 16F84. But those are not chip, can I use the programmer to program PIC 12C508 which is much chipper?? I am a beginner at this so I would not waste to much money for projects that dont work anyway

The 12c508 is a one time programmable chip, once it's programmed then it's in there for good, and if the program contains an error you'll have to throw the chip away and get a new one...

This turns the cheap pic into an expensive one rather quickly.
As a beginner, and for experimenting you really need a flash chip, these can be reprogrammed over and over again.

search for the pic16F628, it's a drop in replacement for the 16F84 but with more ram, rom , eeprom, and some more built in perephials... and its cheaper too.

programmer and software can be found on www.winpicprog.co.uk