Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pic problems w/16f84a (Nigel?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chilly

Been trying to load a chip for several days now and happened upon this site. The original hex/asm I have ,interestingly enough, was written by Nigel Goodwin in 1998. It's for a Stuart PI MP metal detector. The hex was written for a 16c84. I have a 16F84A. I built the circuit and while I haven't yet been able to use it, it sure does look good as a paperweight. ;-)
I have no knowledge of PIC language but I do have a "willem" enhanced eeprom burner. I've tried to load the chip but apparently all I did was load the configuration bits. CP is showing off when I read the chip and all I get is "Generated by WinDis84, (c) Nigel Goodwin 1998.

LIST P=16C84, F=INHX8M
include "P16CXX.inc"

along with lots of 3FFF's.

After scouring the web for any info, I did come across this .asm file from somewhere which appears to be in Danish maybe. I'm fairly sure this was written for the same detector and appears to be specifically for a F84A.
I tried asm it with MPASM but got 3 fatal errors.

Error[132] C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\PI_PIC\STUART\MPL6\PI84A.ASM 1 : Unknown processor (16F84A)
Error[125] C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\PI_PIC\STUART\MPL6\PI84A.ASM 2 : Illegal condition (EOF encountered before END or conditional end directive)
Error[131] C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\PI_PIC\STUART\MPL6\PI84A.ASM 2 : Processor type is undefined

Any help would be unimagineablely appreciated!!
I'm also attaching file. In txt format.