Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC Oscillator Crystal

Status
Not open for further replies.

hugoender

I am new to PICs and have seen some tutorials include external crystal oscillators without explaining why or how they chose the frequency.

I would like to know how you decide what oscillator frequency you need and how the oscillator affects your circuit. I know this is a very general question and it depends on what you are trying to make/do but if you guys could provide some examples where you might need an external crystal oscillator, why you need it, and how you decide the oscillator frequency I would greatly appreciate it.

I did a search through the forums and found a post about assembly instructions taking 4 clock cycles. Does that mean that instructions can be carried out faster with a higher oscillator frequency?

For example:
4MHz Oscillator: Period (clock cycle) = 1/4MHz = 250ns; 1 instruction = 4 clock cycles = 1us

20MHz Oscillator: Period (clock cycle) = 1/20MHz= 50ns; 1 instruction = 4 clock cycles = 200ns

Is this correct? I would greatly appreciate any examples where certain frequencies are required or additional information on oscillators and their function in PIC circuits.

I am new to PICs and have seen some tutorials include external crystal oscillators without explaining why or how they chose the frequency.