Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC or AVR

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrz126

Hi,

I'm trying to get involved in microcontrollers. I already have a couple of Atmel's AVR micros and I've been playing with them, but I'm trying to use assembly language and I've never used it before.

I'm probably going to be taking a microcontrollor course next semester, and they use a PIC for it. and assembly language.

I was just wondering if a pic was easier to understand and use compaired to the AVRs, and if I should look into buying a couple to start playing with before I take this class.

jrz126 said:
Hi,

I'm trying to get involved in microcontrollers. I already have a couple of Atmel's AVR micros and I've been playing with them, but I'm trying to use assembly language and I've never used it before.

I'm probably going to be taking a microcontrollor course next semester, and they use a PIC for it. and assembly language.

I was just wondering if a pic was easier to understand and use compaired to the AVRs, and if I should look into buying a couple to start playing with before I take this class.

It's mostly a matter of personal choice, with PIC being by far the most popular - but they have been about far longer!. Atmel basically jumped on the MicroChip bandwagon following MicroChip's success.

A PIC is a RISC processor and has far less instructions than an AVR, so you 'may' find it easier.

As I see it you have two competing advantages:

1) You already have some AVR's.