Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC or ATMEL

Status
Not open for further replies.

AtomSoft

I was thinking about also jumping into ATMEL.

I know this wouldnt be a smart idea since im new to pic and might get them mixed up but ATMEL looks very interesting.

The Atmel AVR® STK500 is only $90 and looks like a nice starter kit.

Any Thoughts?

I have practical experience only with PICs but from what I know AVRs are faster and it is easier to write software for them (more friendly instruction set and there is a free C compiler), but on the other side PICs are more friendly from the hardware point of view when it comes to programming and debugging. You will need an ISP programmer and if you want to debug also JTAG debugger but only some ATMEGAs have JTAG, the new ATTINYs have DebugWire proprietary debug interface which can be used only with the original JTAG Mk. 2 debugger which is expensive. Also if you program some fuses by mistake you can get stuck without parallel programmer. Compare this with PICs where you have for example the PICkit 2 or ICD2 which is both programmer and debugger, costs 1/10th of the price of the JTAG Mk.2 and also its schematics and firmware is publicly available.
Petr

Both are fine, but the PIC has a LOT more support, and is far more popular.