Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC-microcontroller project

Status
Not open for further replies.

thendo

Hi! everyone!

i am just a new beginner, i trying to learn how to program, i have a project that i have to do, but i don't know where to start. Here is the project: An Irrigation System Controller using either PIC.

i don't know which PIC to choose, where do i begin?

kindly waiting for your reply

:oops: [/quote]

Since you are starting you need to know what you need and how to get it.

So you want to use a PIC, then you need to choose one. I would recommend a book with projects and with the examples in the programming languages you want to use. But here is how I would get started.

:arrow: YOu need a PIC, Most people get started with a 16FXXX, anything like a 16F84A, 16F877, 16F876. The 16F84A is very popular as a starting PIC. Use one that will have enough I/O to control as your project needs.

:arrow: So you have your PIC choosen... you need to program it. Needless to say you need a programmer that programs your PIC. There are plenty of those out there among them you have the EPIC from melabs, JDM, PIC Pro, NOPPP, etc, Find one according to you busget. You want to make sure it works so I would recommend the EPIC so you can learn about pics and not get stuck building a unrealiable programmer. BUt that is my humble opinion