Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC embedded webserver project

Status
Not open for further replies.

nurick

Hi, Im a beginner in PIC programming and is conducting a project that will utilize a PIC as a webserver (18f45j10 for its dual serial pins for I2C and SPI). The project uses a ISA NIC (3com's 3c509b. legacy, i know) for its datalink.

I am asking for advice on which language is best for use in imitating the TCP/IP stack. Since I haven't started on my project so I dont know the complexities involved in programming the code. I am stuck in choosing between C and assembly language.

Also, for the network engineers out there, im having trouble powering up my ISA NIC, I have the 3c509b's technical datasheet and configuration drivers but alas, supplying 5v to the ISA bus doesn't power up the NIC. I am in need of advice in what to do with this problem.

Thanks in advance fellow enthusiasts!

nurick said:
I am asking for advice on which language is best for use in imitating the TCP/IP stack. Since I haven't started on my project so I dont know the complexities involved in programming the code. I am stuck in choosing between C and assembly language.

Although I'm a long term assembler user, I would suggest using C, MicroChip provide a free C compiler for the 18F series, and many of the application notes are in C rather than assembler.

I read you post wrong. I was thinking you wanted to write the TCP stack...