Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pic and LCD question

Status
Not open for further replies.

timtalk

Hi there all..

I'm very new to electronics and still am trying to understand what is happening when a LCD is initalized. I'm using Nigels tutorials but since I don't fully understand ASM and normaly program in C I'm a bit lost. If I understand what i'm reading in Nigels code I'm seeing that all pins on PORT A are dropped to 0, then after a 100ms wait I see that it's giving the command "movlw 0x20" my question is does this mean that it's setting pin_A0 to 0, A1 to 0, A2 to 0, A3 to 0, A4 to 0 and A5 to 1 which would be the binary equilivent??? or is it actually sending the value 0X20 over one of the pins? if it's the second then which pin on the LCD is it sending to?

timtalk said:
Hi there all..

I'm very new to electronics and still am trying to understand what is happening when a LCD is initalized. I'm using Nigels tutorials but since I don't fully understand ASM and normaly program in C I'm a bit lost. If I understand what i'm reading in Nigels code I'm seeing that all pins on PORT A are dropped to 0, then after a 100ms wait I see that it's giving the command "movlw 0x20" my question is does this mean that it's setting pin_A0 to 0, A1 to 0, A2 to 0, A3 to 0, A4 to 0 and A5 to 1 which would be the binary equilivent??? or is it actually sending the value 0X20 over one of the pins? if it's the second then which pin on the LCD is it sending to?