Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC 16F877A and a Stepper Motor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Musicmanager

Hi Guys

Remembering I'm a novice and a bit of an old fart .. ... .

I'm having a play with stepper motors at the moment - I want to get some experience of how they work etc .. . I've got some steppers I saved from some old printers etc and I've identified them to type and found datasheets, so far so good.
I found a schematic to drive a stepper with a PIC 16f877A which I've now part built but the narrative says there is a 'switch' on the 16f877a which at logic high will drive in one direction and logic low the opposite direction. I've looked at the schematic and studied the datasheet but I cannot identify which pin is this switch - I find some of the abbreviations to pin labels a bit odd - .. .. ..

Can someone help me please .. .

Thanks S

Attachments

• Bipolar schematic 1.pdf
    229.1 KB · Views: 223
The switch pin will be set in the code, and it could be almost any one of them. Do you have the link to the entire article?

Hi House

Thanks for your help .. .

I saved the article for my reference so it's here .. .. .

S

Attachments

• Interfacing Stepper Motor with PIC Microcontroller.pdf
    565.1 KB · Views: 2,105
That code is in MikroC, so I can't help with that. As House said, it is a software switch. Here is an example from the code I posted recently http://www.electro-tech-
online.com/threads/driving-stepper-motor-gauges.144733/page-2#post-1226483
) :