Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pic 16f877 led test circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

spirosd

I am new to electronics and I am trying to use a 16f877 to pulse 4 leds. The problem that I am facing is the circuit rather than with the code.

Directly connecting the leds to portb results to the desired result but after a few seconds the pulsing stops. If I apply slight pressure the the pic the pulsing starts again. Looking on the web one possible reason was 'noisy' (is this the right description) power supply. I added .1 uf caps to both VDD pins of pic; with no success.

Now nothing works and I suspect that I have damaged the pic. I have tried with a new pic and adding 1k resistor to the PORTB pins (thinking that possibly I have damaged the original pic by sourcing too much current) but the leds do not pulse.

I have checked the program (using C and Hi-Tech C to generate the hex code) using a simulator (gpsim) and I believe the code is correct. The power supply that I am using is a old computer PSU - measured the output voltage at 5.7V.

Is there something else that I should check / try? As I mentioned earlier I am new to both electronics and pic. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

You should have put a resistor in series with each led (330 ohm or so).to limit the current...
Not dooing so can damage the pic and the led's. Now, a pic is not so easy damaged so there's a big chance that only the leds are defective...

go to

this website has great pic tutorials