Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Pic 16f876a Prog. Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

JEFFxxx

Hi,
I am a newbie in this wonderful world of PIC programming and having some problems, so I'm hoping some one out there can help me out.
I have written a program for the pic 16f876a microcontroller, this uses RA0 as an analogue input. I have tested it with MPLAB simulator and seems to work ok. Unfortunately MPLAB does not seem to support analogue input simulation, I could be wrong here.
I have programmed the PIC with no problems encountered, but when I breadboard, it will not function. All the external components are in the correct locations, using 100k pull-up resistor on the MCLR pin and using a 10k pot for analogue input on pin 2 of the PIC.

Also I would appreciate any good links, especially a simulator that allows analogue input.
Hope someone can help me out there, before I pull out all my hair.
Many thanks,
Jeff

The programme listing:-

;CHARGE CONTROLER

PROCESSOR 16F876a
INCLUDE <p16f876a.inc>
__config _HS_OSC & _WDT_OFF & _PWRTE_ON

;CONSTANTS

STATUS EQU 03H
TRISA EQU 85H ;BANK 1
TRISB EQU 86H ;BANK 1
PORTA EQU 05H
PORTB EQU 06H
ADCON0 EQU 1Fh
ADCON1 EQU 9FH ;BANK 1
ADRES EQU 1EH
GODONE EQU 02H
CARRY EQU 00H

;SET UP PORTS

BSF STATUS,5 ;TO BANK 1
MOVLW H'ff'
errorlevel -302
MOVWF TRISA ;PORT A INPUT
MOVLW 00H
MOVWF TRISB ;PORT B OUTPUT
MOVLW B'00000100'
MOVWF ADCON1 ;SET RA0,1,3 ANALOGUE INPUTS
BCF STATUS,5 ;TO BANK 0
errorlevel +302
MOVLW B'01000001'