Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Phototransistor vs Photodiode

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ayne said:
When light strike on Photodiode it's resistance increase or decrease??

When light strike on an LDR, it's resistance decrease.

but wen light strike on Photodiode it conducts in reverse bias.

Ikalogic,

Since I'm new to microcontrollers I just don't know the power of them. What I should have asked was: Can a PIC16F628A run a LCD display AND keep track of the input pulses and calculations needed for a tachometer? Or... do I need a microcontroller for the LCD and one for the Tachometer?

Thanks...

Last edited:
What kind of LCD? Does it have a built in controller? (most do). If it has an 11-pin interface, the controller is built in.

If the LCD has its own controller, then a single microcontroller can to what you need and plenty more.

mneary,

Okay... that sounds good! Thanks!

Do you or anyone else for the matter, have a suggestion for a good 16 X 2 LCD display? This would be for indoor use... so what type of back light etc.

Thanks...

Oh, one other thing...

If I use an LED (four digit) would it also be good to use a single microcontroller to handle that and use another microcontroller to do the calculations and counting of pulses for the tachometer? This is for my use only so a couple of dollars either way doesn't matter, I just want a fast and accurate tach!

Last edited:
You left no clue as to your location. This is important when discussing sources.