Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

photocell to turn LED on questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok i'm off on another project. i'm a newbie so take it easy on my. I'm looking for a circuit to take a photocell and have it turn on an led using 2 aaa 1.5volt batteries and trun on the LED around Dark. can anyone point me in the right direction?

You know those solar garden lights your neighbor has down the street... :) Just kidding, you are looking for a dark-activated switch. Several circuits in this forum already (posted three different ones myself...). You didn't mention what kind of LED you plan on using. If it's white, 2 rechargables won't work, disposiables won't last very long, you'll need a boost converter. Red or amber will work okay. If you're in a hurry, search the forum or the web, plenty of circuits. I'll search the hard drive, and post the on I've been using a little later (already in the past posts some place...).

Give these a try!

My only concern is if the 3V is enough, and if so for how long.

Attachments

• laLED1.jpg
    laLED1.jpg
    38.5 KB · Views: 390
Last edited:
Team_NightStalker wrote: "how do i fine tune it? i don't want the LED to come on until it is almost night fall."

The 50k pot allows for some light sensitivity adjustment, but that really is a problem with many of the store-bought side-walk lights and this circuit as well.