Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Performance

Status
Not open for further replies.

TKS

Hi hello,

i'm new in this world (only know basics)

i was wondering what is the difference between the ATMEL range and the PIC range or is it just where you start whit you never leave??

or is it the price/ the performance..??/

and apart from the price wy we should use Intel 8085 chips??
whit mem external and external I/o chips..

TKS

Biggest diffirence between pic and avr is the instruction set. Avr's have more instructions wich make assembler a bit harder to learn (more to know), on the other side, avr's are much better to program in a high level language (C for example). their more advanced instruction set makes it easyer for a compiler to generate efficient code - compared to PIC16 devices. The newer Pic18 devices have a enhanced instruction set of their own, including hardware multiplier, their C support had become good also.

Also, the complete development enviroment you need is diffirent for the two. you've got a programmer, software, etc... for a pic, but you can't use it for a avr, and vice versa.

It mostly comes down to personal preference. Try to experiment with both, and you will see what you like most.

As for the 8085. I don't see a reason to use it. All the info i find about it seems to point out it runs at 3Mhz max, and you need a whole bunch of external components wich make board production harder.