Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

pcb layout program?

Status
Not open for further replies.

timtalk

I'm new to electronics and was wondering if there is a program out there that will allow you to draw a schmatic of a project and then tell it to auto place or something like that onto a pcb board and have it auto create the traces for you?

I know of one software suite that'll do that : https://www.new-wave-concepts.com/

You use Livewire to create the schematics (which can be run as a simulation!) and when it detects PCB Wizard installed, you get a menu option to automatically create a PCB, whose construction by default will be animated. If the schematic gets too complicated, the software will try its best and highlight the traces that need to be routed manually. Pretty nice.

If you are a complete beginner, also check out their Control Studio software. You use simple building blocks to create functional systems that can later be converted into real world schematics and PCBs.

The software is very hobbyist friendly and intuitive (nothing like Eagle if you've heard of it) and is in my opinion a very good way to get started in electronics.

i think Eagle software will layout the traces for standard parts, but i've not used it for that purpose ..