Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PCB CAD Program

Status
Not open for further replies.

TucsonDon

I am looking for a CAD program to use for my PCB layouts. I am a hobbyist so I don't do a lot of PCB's and don't want to brake the bank with the purchase of a program.

I have been using AutoTRAX DEX but it has to many bugs in the program. I like having the program on my computer to build parts and layout the boards then export to gerber files to send to a manufacture.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

Eagle free version very capable. Learning curve is a bit steep but
tons of online resources, forums, YouTube training. Does have an
autorouter, some users feel hand layout only way to do stuff, I find
using it initially then doing hand route quite handy.

I see other users like Kicad, it seems to have a strong following as well.
Free also.

Regards, Dana.

danadak thanks for the info I will check it out! I like an auto router (AutoTRAX has a third party that limits to 250 pads)

I am looking for a CAD program to use for my PCB layouts. I am a hobbyist so I don't do a lot of PCB's and don't want to brake the bank with the purchase of a program.

I have been using AutoTRAX DEX but it has to many bugs in the program. I like having the program on my computer to build parts and layout the boards then export to gerber files to send to a manufacture.

Does anyone have any recommendations?