Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Parallel to serial to parallel circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robert Hedan

Hi,

I'm a electronic web newb, meaning I learned all my electronics in tutorials on the web. So don't assume I know what seems to you as the most basic thing. :lol:

I am wiring 2 74HC166s that will convert a +5V DC signal from 16 push buttons into a serial signal, 2 74HC164s are 'supposed' to convert the serial signal and send a +5V DC signal to 16 LEDs.

I've found lots of schematics on the web for one chip, or the other, but none with the 2 chips used in tandem. I'd appreciate any help in connecting the controlling pins, the buttons and LEDs are a piece of cake, even I can figure that part out.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Robert
:)

How do you want this to work? For example, set 16 input buttons, send the data, stop and read the LEDs, reset the leds and repeat.

The LEDs are going to be blinking while the data is being sent, so you have to stop to read them. You can send the data at high speed, using a clock under 25 mHz.

Tell us more about your intentions.

Ok,

my requirements:

- no LEDs light as long as no buttons pressed.
- when button pressed, corresponding LED lights, turns off when button released.

I'm including a schematic of a circuit with a pair of 74HCT166s as well as the pinouts and function.

Robert

Attachments

• 74hct166_sample.jpg
    74hct166_sample.jpg
    201.4 KB · Views: 414
  • 74hct166_pinout.jpg
    74hct166_pinout.jpg