Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Parallel charging of batteries - Help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barry

Hi all,
I need help with a circuit so that I can charge two lead acid batteries on my car via the alternator BUT current is only drawn from the main battery which always gives me a fully charged battery on standby.
Being a Newbie I thought of maybe adding diodes between the two batteries but what would prevent the second battery then from overcharging?
To solve this thought of possibly putting a circuit after the first battery and after diode with a relay and some type of voltage sensor to take the second battery out of charging circuit when fully charged.
Ideas and advice as always much appreciated.
Thanks.
Barry.
PS The solution is probably quite easy but I cannot see it! :oops:

The simplest form of battery isolator used in motor homes and such with 2 batteries is nothing more than 2 large diodes mounted in a large heatsink. The 2 diodes have their anodes conected via metal bar, with a bolt on the metal bar connecting to the alternator. Each battery is connected to one of the cathodes of either diode. This allows the alternator to charge both batteries, but the diodes prevent the loads on the "auxillary " battery from discharging the " cranking " battery.