Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

P-type semiconductor material

Status
Not open for further replies.

vjee

Ok i just want to make sure I got this. I'm also new at this..
P-type semiconductor material has large number of, Positive charge or Negative charge?
According to my understanding I would go with positive charge am I right??

The name is a mnemonic. Think "P" for positive, "N" for negative. So yes, your guess is correct.

P-type material has an excess of "holes". Can you tell us why? What causes "holes"?

vjee,

Ok i just want to make sure I got this. I'm also new at this..
P-type semiconductor material has large number of, Positive charge or Negative charge?
According to my understanding I would go with positive charge am I right??

No, you are not correct, but your study material is probably wrong. Let me explain.