Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

over 3volts for laser on and under 3volts laser off

Status
Not open for further replies.

numpskulls

hi i'm new to this kinda thing but i need a circuit that will be normaly open and then close when the volts from my sound card dac go above 3.0 volts and stay closed till the volts drop below 3.o volts. it needs to do this very rapidly as this is the function for the laser blanking(turns laser off while the scanners are making the jump stitch) so that you dont see a line conecting letters if your image is a word.
some guys pointed me to a chip called 74hc14 wich is a schmitt trigger. it sounds like it would work but i only can figure the power pins so far.....i wouldnt know how to hook in my plus and minus from sound card dac or what to use as out put iether. i did get some results using a relay but it was tooo slow and i would have to adjust it for every image i displayed with the projector.

any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

thanx in advance Ω

So the DAC goes above 3 volts and the circuit turns off the laser. Then the DAC goes below 3 volts and the laser is turned back on???? What voltage level turns the laser off and on? How much current?