Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Other uses for garage door eyes

Status
Not open for further replies.

AGCB

As a residential contractor I sometimes replace garage door openeners for one reason or another. As such I have a collection old photo eyes and have wondered if they could be of use in my electronics hobby. I do not know how they work but they must be more complicated than just a DC transmitter/receiver pair. Anyone put a pair to good use or can explane the system? Aaron

Normally, there is a light source and detector in a box with a retro-reflector mounted on the other side. When the beam is broken, either a solid state switch or relay is activated. That will in turn provide either a ground on one wire or a dry closure between two wires. I would guess that if it has three wires, two are power and the third is the control lead that will either add or remove a ground upon breaking of the beam. If it has four wires, two are for the lamp power the other two are the relay contacts.

The best way to know for sure is to pull one apart and draw out the schematic since you have several examples to play with.

I worked on a garage door opener where both modules were wired, as in "no mirror". One of them pulsed and the other received. The receiver changed a voltage and the brain board decided what to do about it.