Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Oscilloscope Purchasing Advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

zombieball

Hi all, I am an EE student looking to purchase an entry level oscilloscope. I am interested in a digital oscilloscope (I think they are referred to as DSO's?) as I have found functions they have to be quite handy (mainly ability to read off peak voltages, periods, etc).

I will be using the scope mainly to work with various micro controller based projects.

One scope I had in mind was the Rigol DS1052E. It sells for about $550 CDN on ebay. I am not quite sure I could afford +$1000 scopes for brand names such as Tektronix.

Does anyone have experience with Rigol scopes? Or perhaps the DS1052E in particular? Anyone have experience with other similar brands (Owon, etc.)?

Thanks for your help!

Looks like a good scope for the money with a lot of features, but I know nothing about it's quality.

You might be better off buying a cheaper general purpose analog scope on e-bay and picking yourself up a inexpensive logic analyzer. DSO's are nice and all but for micro controllers a logic analyzer is more useful.

You might be better off buying a cheaper general purpose analog scope on e-bay and picking yourself up a inexpensive logic analyzer. DSO's are nice and all but for micro controllers a logic analyzer is more useful.