Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Oscilloscope + LED problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

he11fire

First I need to say I am a beginner in electronics but I'm trying a lot to understand it.
In this experiment i built an oscilloscope which works fine and the idea of the flashing LED popped up in my mind ...So I connected it to the Output of the 555 Timer but the LED works fine only when the signal is 1 .When the signal is 0 it flashes very fast ...Can any1 explain why does this happen ??

**broken link removed**

There is no "1 or 0 signal" in your circuit.
R1, R2 and C2 make the frequency of the flashing about 90Hz which is very fast.

Also, in real life, unless your LED is designed for 5 volt operation you would have a resistor in series with it to limit the current through it. But that would only be in real life. :)

Ron

Also, in real life, unless your LED is designed for 5 volt operation you would have a resistor in series with it to limit the current through it. But that would only be in real life. :)

Ron
No. An LMC555 is a low current Cmos 555.
"Real Life" didn't look at the datasheet of the Cmos 555. With a 5V supply its typical output high current to a 2V red LED is only 5mA which is already current-limited without a series resistor. A series resistor would just reduce the current even more and reduce the already dim brightness.

Real Life just screwed up. Never saw it and never caught it. Damn, I don't believe I missed that. :eek:

*Wanders off to sulk*