Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Oscilloscope help for a complete noob

Status
Not open for further replies.
Names MikeBruce

I just got started in electronics. I want to get into Guitar Amp repair as well as modding and designing effects for electric guitar. It would be cool to meet people in this field!

Anyway i am setting up a workarea and right now I am focusing on small scale circuits so I can understand them. I am reading and almost through Getting Started in Electronics by Forrest Mims. Fun and great book btw...

Anyway I just bought a Tektronix 2465 300Mhz for 250 cash. Its in perfect condition and hardly used and came with everything. The reason I bought was because it was a great deal, at least from what i have been looking at.

For the line of work I am doing... should I just sell this and buy something else. Or will i find this 4 channel 300 Mhz usefull sometime?

thats it
Thanks!

The scope will be fine for what you're doing, sounds like a decent scope - more than you need, but it will be even more useful in the future because of that.

Bruce

Take no notice of Nigel:D

That oscilloscope is totally unsuitable and will bring you nothing but misery.
There is however a way out for you, you must carefully pack it up and send it to me.
If nothing else, this will result in good kharma for you.:D:D

JimB

Bruce

Take no notice of Nigel:D

That oscilloscope is totally unsuitable and will bring you nothing but misery.