Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

oscillator

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a undergrad student.I have a problem with a oscillator circuit.I have found a oscillator circuit from net and using it as a oscillator in my circuit.But my problem is that i could not find that what type of oscillator it is and what is it's operation?It would be helpful for me if someone please help me to know the type and operation of the oscillator .Thank you.I have given the figure attached.

Attachments

• edited.jpg
    edited.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 240
Not a particularly good one. Here is a sim of it. Note that V(c) and V(a) have approximately equal amplitudes, but they are 180 degrees apart. This shows that the network consisting of L1, L2 and C1 is a Pi-section high-pass filter which has a gain of ~1 and a phase shift of 180 degrees at the frequency of oscillation.
If the transistor has a gain of slightly greater than -1, then the circuit will oscillate, which it does. Note the un-bypassed emitter resistor, which is why the transistor gain does in fact have a low gain. Also note the low amplitute, and the harmonic distortion.

I have never seen this circuit before, but I would call it a variant of the Colpitts Oscillator.

Attachments

• osc1.jpg
    osc1.jpg
    237.5 KB · Views: 213
I played with the bias, and came up with this: Higher amplitude and lower harmonic distortion.

Attachments

• Osc1m.jpg
    Osc1m.jpg
    234.6 KB · Views: 223