Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

okay....i hope i make sense......

Status
Not open for further replies.

xdjkatx

I'm currently working on a project, please keep in mind I have no exper nor knowledge in this field. I've been on a "crash course" for the past 4 hours and this is what i've come up with.....

https://www.redcircuits.com/Page85.htm is what i want to create. A led circuit for my tail lamps on my car.

The circuit diagram listed only had 12 LEDS, but my setup has 30 LEDS.

LED spec that I will be using
Super brite LED
20mA
3v

My questions about this parallel setup......

1. will resistor "R1" still be the same?
2. what are the values for "R2" and "R3"? (If i'm correct, r2+r3= brake current=brighter)
3. will transistors remain the same or different?
4. will i need anymore transistors because i'm adding 18 more LEDS?
5. Switches "sw1" and "sw2"....How would i hook this circuit up to my tail lamp? the tail lamp has 3 wires: RED(POWER), BLACK(GROUND),GREEN/WHITE(BRAKE)

It will look something like so

o o o o o o o o
o o o o o o o
o o o o o o o o
o o o o o o o

xdjkatx said:
1. will resistor "R1" still be the same?
Your LEDs are 3.0V each. Then six in series requires 18V which you don't have.
Use seven rows of 4 LEDs in series.
Then each row is 6mA or 20mA. Seven rows of 20mA is a total of 140mA which is more than double the 60mA max in the project.
Then most of the parts will need their values changed for the more than double the current.