Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Number of Layers on PCB?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brokenspring

Hello All,
I am fairly new to the PCB world and have my first job in it...:)...I am designing a board for with RF components in the range of 2.4GHz and 900MHz. Can anyone tell me how should I determine the number of layers on the board? How do I make that decision? Pointer to any good books that I could buy would be really appreciated...
Thanks

If cost is a factor, the fewer layers, the better. You don't want any long PC runs at those frequencies, so if multi layers will make short runs, it may be worth it. You will want a good ground plane, but that can be on the top or bottom layer.

if you are dealing with RF you def need

1) a GND plane
2) 5V plane

Then depending on other conciderations

3) & 4) layers for tracks -depends on how complex teh cct is
5) & 6) if used and needed planes for +/-15V