Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Noo-b

Status
Not open for further replies.

youfourian

Hello everyone, I'm new here:)
I'm not very experienced with electronic & electrical systems formally, so I'm not sure if this is the right place for this, but here goes.
I want a unit that will monitor and display certain information of an electrical circuit's cycle as it is in operation.
Here's how the cycle goes; non powered, there is a steel bar attached to a flat steel spring that holds to a frame. The spring forces the steel bar away from a pair of electromagnets. Attached to the steel bar is a second spring, that makes contact with an adjustable contact point, which is compressed in this non powered state.
When power is applied to the circuit, the magnets draw the steel bar away from the contact point, breaking the circuit and causing the force of the spring pressure to return the steel bar to the contact point, starting the cycle again.
During this cycle, there is an "open contact" time, where there is no electrical contact. It is the time from when the contact spring leaves the contact point, while the steel bar is on it's way to the magnet's surface and then back until the contact spring makes contact with the contact point again from the force of the frame spring.
There is also a "closed contact" time, when the spring contacts the contact point, through the spring compression cycle, until the contact is broken again on the steel bar's return to the magnet.