Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ni - MH battery charger - what current do I have to use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aldo

Hi guys,

I have been using Ni Cd batteries for more than 20 years in several devices that I have. But now, with the Ni MH batteries at the same prices that Ni Cd, but with much more power in the same size, I got some of these batteries to use in cameras and other devices.

The problem I am struggling now, is about how to charge these batteries in the right way.
I have seen AA batteries, rated at 1500 mA, that have to be charged at 205 mA. I thought that the right procedure was to charge it with 10 % of the total amount of current stored in the battery.
I am interested in the Eveready AA Ni MH rated at 2100 mA, but there is nothing on the battery that specifies the current for charging it.
Should I use 210 mA like a conventional Ni Cd?? :?:
Is it 14 hours the right timeframe for charging Ni MH?

If anyone knows more about this matter, I would appreciate any help.
I got a pretty simple circuit with a Mosfet that develops the current and protects the cells, but I m not sure about on how many miliamps I have to set the current to avoid any life shortage on the cells.

Thank you very much in advance
Have a very good day

Al

Hi Aldo,
Your NiMH battery cells are rated at 2100mA/hr, not 2100mA. The charging process is not 100% efficient (some charging is lost as heat), so you must charge for about 40% more than calculated (14 hours instead of 10).