Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

next programming to learn?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aznavalanche

hey all, so i'm new to robotics and have been doing my best to learn the basics (I'm only fourteen years old, by the way). I just got done learning how to program in PBasic (which is programming language for a company called Parallax). I needed help deciding which language to learn next. My dad suggested to learn C++ visual, or anytype of C, he's an electrical engineer though. Don't get me wrong, i do trust in his opinions, but I just wanted one from a robotics engineer/technician. So what would you guys suggest for me to learn next?

Although I don't use it, I would suggest learning C, C++ Visual doesn't have much use for microconteollers, and is only a step away from plain C anyway.

If you use PIC 18F series then there's a free C compiler, called C18 - most of the 18F series application notes are written using it.

so I'm guessing that PIC 18F is a micocontroller? I think I might try and get my hands on one. But if I can't, I can pretty much use any microcontroller, right? And I already have a C compiler because my dad knows how to program in C(something...i forgot which one), so I can just use that.

Whatever compiler your dad has, it will not work with any microcontroller. Most likely it works only for a certain series of microcontrollers from some company. So if you are using that compiler, you'd have to use those microcontrollers.