Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie wants to Step-Up +5v to +12v

Status
Not open for further replies.

xerocalibur

Hey,

I'm a complete newbie to electronics; I do know how to solder and I have hooked up some 12v lights inside my PC case.

I want to do a keyboard modification and have neon light string running through it, behind the keys. I have the keyboard, and the neon light string, etc., I just don't have the 12v needed to run the string.

I know I could hook up a 9v battery and hide it in the keyboard, with a switch, and it would most likely work -- however, the string would not be as bright as it could be.

I would like to know if there's any way to make a 5v to 12v stepup converter that is small enough to fit inside the keyboard?

I found these three links:

**broken link removed**

https://www.elexp.com/t_dc-dc.htm

and

**broken link removed**

but everything on those sites is greek to me, and I have no idea if I can attain any of those parts at a local Radioshack (which, I know, is horrible for electronics parts, but it's all I have locally)...

So! Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

-Sincerely yours,
Xero

P.S. If it wouldn't be too troublesome, please tell/explain what it is in the circuit that connects to which, or simply state that, as again -- I am a complete newb and I don't know what those diagrams mean.