Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie trying to understand a circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello. I am an electronics beginner. I would like to understand a circuit that is in a book from the 1980s entitled "Computer Controlled Robots", published by Usborne. May I ask here?

1. The book does not specify the exact model of relay to be used, merely that it should be within certain specifications. The designer appears to have assumed that no resistor is necessary in series with the relay coil. Is this a valid assumption?
2. Is there a special name given to the diode?
3. My understanding is that the diode wastes any current that is induced by the relay coil after the transistor is switched off. Is that correct?
4. Is there a special name for the 6.8 kohm resistor? What is its function? Is it necessary?
5. If I read the book "The Art of Electronics", will all this become clear to me? (Heh, heh. I've had that book recommended, but the investment is not trivial.)

Thanks,

Richard

Attachments

• Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    100.6 KB · Views: 261
no resistor is necessary in series with the relay coil.
true....assuming a 12V supply and a 12V relay.....no resistor
name given to the diode?
Flyback diode or snubber.
diode wastes any current that is induced by the relay coil after the transistor is switched off.