Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie question, should I use a microcontroller for this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rover1

Hi there, this is really a great forum such as I'm quite new to electronics and would appreciate your opinion

I'm making a bar graph tachometer for my nephew's soapbox racer, and am using a LM2917 freq.-voltage and an LM3914 to drive the led display. But as I was putting everything together I was just wondering, if I took the time to learn how to program a microcontroller, wouldn't the package be smaller more simple?

Provided programming a microcontroller is a non issue for you, would you use a micro controller for this application or would you stick with the IC's?

Thanks for your help !

Rover1 said:
Hi there, this is really a great forum such as I'm quite new to electronics and would appreciate your opinion

I'm making a bar graph tachometer for my nephew's soapbox racer, and am using a LM2917 freq.-voltage and an LM3914 to drive the led display. But as I was putting everything together I was just wondering, if I took the time to learn how to program a microcontroller, wouldn't the package be smaller more simple?

Provided programming a microcontroller is a non issue for you, would you use a micro controller for this application or would you stick with the IC's?