Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie project, mechanic needing delay timer & more i12v

Status
Not open for further replies.

greg123

Help making 12v delay timer & warning buzzer in switch box

Hi folks,

Thanks for taking the rime to read this. As a mechanic i'm ohm's law & soldering/faultfinding literate in 12v apps as well as familiar with basic descreet componants eg resistor led capacitor etc.

I need some help making a little controller box to mount on the dash. it will need to run on 9-15v dc (12v-14.4v nominal automotive) unsmoothed.

It needs a single pole double throw switch (3 terminal) @ 5a to control the output, 4 led's that are easy to mount on box.

Now here is the interesting bit, I need a delay timer such that when switch is moved from position 2 to position 1, a 5a output is fed for an adjustable time between 1& 60sec. At a push the output could be nominal & drive a relay elsewhere. The time would need to not easily be tampered with, so recessed pot or removable cover to accesss dip switch needed. Also needs to have a small buzzer that sounds when switch is in position 2 and an input 12v is killed, ideally on a 20sec timer but i can live without that for simplicity sake, purpose is to warn driver if he turns ign off without switching unit to position 1.

Having 2 blade fuses accessable in side of unit would also be nice, or maybe under part flip or sliding cover with pot or dip switches.