Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie problems + Pic16pro40 not working

Status
Not open for further replies.

2camjohn

I am a newbie to pics but have done high level programming for some years.

I have written a program in basic which uses interrupts. I am using this pic basic compiler

At the moment I only want to use the internal clock.

I try and program a 16f877 with my pic16pro40 but it wont write to it.

Pic16 pro (fully registered) for dos says "hardware fault"

Picall windows says "program error address=0 buffer = 118a device =3fff

WinPicProg says "Program verify failed at Program address 0x000, Programming Aborted!"

When i read the chip back it is blank.

I have been through a mountain of docs about this but cant figure out what to do.
Im not really sure what config word / fuses to use so if someone could suggest some I can eliminate that as a problem.
I dont know where to select LVP or HVP either or whether i can.
I have used two 9v batteries instead of the AC power supply incase it was that.

My programmer seems to be able to program a 12c508a but i cant set up the GPIO pins properly. There are no examples on how to do this in basic and I have programmed 3 of these OTP chips to do nothing :(

If someone could help me out here it would be appreciated.

Im now off to buy some more 12c508a chips since thats the only chip my programmer works with.

Thanks in advance for your time

There are a number of possible reasons, which basically boil down to: