Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie Needs Help with Video Inverter

Status
Not open for further replies.

moonstruck

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to electronic engineering. Other than building the simple LED/Capacitor flashing light type things.

I want to build a video inverter that will take a regular NTSC video signal and invert it so the blacks are white, the whites are black, etc. This way I can preview a film negative on the TV screen in the proper colors.

I found this schematic on the web but it looks like it was drawn by a 5th grader. I don't really know if it will work or exactly what it says.

Here is the link to the schematic: https://www.epanorama.net/pdf_redirect.php?url=http://oh3tr.ele.tut.fi/~ftp/video/videoinv.gif

Can anyone give me some direction with this? Will this schematic work? If so, can you re-write it so I can read it properly? Do you know of any better schematics for what I want to accomplish? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Scott

No it won't do what you are wanting, you can't just invert the entire composite signal, you must invert just the video, leaving the sync pulses etc. as they were.

Thanks Nigel,

So essentially I have to seperate the Sync from the Video signal and then invert the Video signal before combining the two signals for output. Would that work?

-Scott

Many years ago, pay-TV from analog cable-TV was scrambled by them reducing the amplitude of the sync. So the scrambled picture was out of sync.