Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie - Needs help with electronic variable resistors - Custom fuel gauge.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jtegg007

Let me start by saying I am totally new to circuit and small electronic building. This will be my first DIY type project, and Id like to be at Fry's tonight picking up stuff to play with.

The goal here is to control an OEM fuel gauge via a voltage signal. I have a pressure transducer, reading pressure and outputting a 0-5v signal. I need to build a device that can take that signal, and use it to control a variable resistor. The OEM gauge/computer looks for 50-300 ohms resistance in the fuel level circuit and uses that info to determine fuel level; 50 ohms is full and 4.5v is full. And 300 ohms is empty and 0.7v is empty. Im hoping the device can automatically scale everything in between. Can anyone point me in a good direction to start learning how to accomplish this?

It is actually quite difficult to electronically simulate a resistor, and is even more difficult if the circuit isn't clear.