Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie - Momentary make & break a circuit on relay activation

Status
Not open for further replies.

JeffT

Hi

I'm completely new to this so sorry if I use the wrong terminology. I have made a light / dark switch from a kit which activates a relay, (just soldering the components in the correct location, I know, but it works which is a big step for me.)

Now I want to control an existing motor which requires just a momentary make and break of a circuit to activate it. This needs to activate just once when the relay activates and again when it deactivates. The motor has its own internal control to turn it off.

I've found here and elsewhere lots of references to a make / break switches which activate a circuit continuously until the next make / break switch press. I really need to do the opposite.

The supply to the light / dark switch is 6.0v and the circuit which needs a momentary connection is 4.5v.

I've ben considering using a latching relay which would effectively deactivate itself after receiving a supply from the relay in the light / dark switch, the other side of the relay could do the make / break of the motor control circuit. This would again activate when the light dark relay deactivated. However I can only find a 12v DP latching relay, and it also seems poor to use one relay to control another, there must be a more eligant solution.