Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie here - need some high-voltage advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

king nero

Hello to all,

short intro: I'm from Belgium (so please forgive any spelling/grammar mistakes), I used to do fault-finding on cnc-machinery (both software as hardware), now I'm (again) into a whole new professional world, I like to get some change of environment every few years.

Currently I'm having a bit of a discussion with a friend, as described below:

Our (street-) power supply is from a transformer, secondary in Y, with the neutral (star-point) earthed to ground. Voltage is 3x400 V, or 230V for each neutral-phase voltage.

If you would hook up a large transformer (eg an industrial welder) between 2 phases (400V), Would it, or would it not, affect the grid?
Theoretical question, I know if any difference, it would be very small, but imagine quite a large transformer then.

More specific, if you would hook up a perfect symmetric 3phase resistor in Y between the phases from that grid, would you see a voltage difference between the starpoint of the Y-resistor (which is floating at this instant) and the starpoint of the grid (where it is asymetrically challenged due to the large welder)?

Now, both of us have a good understanding of electrics, and yet neither of us can deliver sufficient proof to the other one to help him convince for either situation.

I say yes, it would affect the grid, he says it wouldn't, but neither of us can really back it up.