Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie here building a dynamometer, daq, sensors, etc, help

Status
Not open for further replies.

fastline

OK, to be honest, my brother is the electronics and computer guy, I am the power grid guy and the motor head. I am doing research to build a brake dynamometer. This will require multiple temp sensors, tachometers, and a few other basic instrumentation. We want to use mostly IR temp sensing for simplicity of test vehicle setup. We would also like to use IR sensing for tach pickups as well.

I guess our first objective is to determine how to make these IR critters? They seem a little to costly commercially since we will need around 5 temps sensors, and 4 tach sensors. Temp range will be 50-250F, and 500-1300F, and the tachs will need good precision and 0-5000 rpms or ppm. So can anyone help with design of these little guys component wise?

We are also a machine shop so building the holder devices for potting and such should not be an issues. The next order here will be building the daq system but we will save that for another thread I guess.

As I understand it, the circuit is configured with an RX and TX diode, one emitting IR rays, one receiving them. The RX diode emissivity will be set at the proper range depending on what type of material is being tested for temps. the range would be set to a small band so as to only react to certain reactive wave forms associated with delta T.

Is this right so far?