Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

newbie help

Status
Not open for further replies.

paulyt5966

hi all,im a total beginner to pic programing and im doing one of the tutorials based on the 12c508a and 16f84a the first project is to make a led turn on.

SetUp MOVLW 3E ;Make GP0 output
TRIS 06 ;Load TRISB file
Out0 MOVLW 01 ;Load W with 1
MOVWF 06 ;Make GP0 HIGH
GOTO Out0
END
i have simulated the above and it works so i changed 3E to 39h which i assume would make gp1 and gp2 high but when i run a simulation gp1 and gp2 doesnt seem to go high what have i missed?
i know this is probably such a simple thing for you all but we all had to start from scratch.

If you look at the binary values for the values you are using, you get:-

3E = 00111110 = GP0 is output - rest are input
39 = 00111001 = GP1 & GP2 are output

You then proceed to write 1 to GPIO which will set GP0 to 1. When you change your TRIS value to 39 then you should have changed the 1 to 6 (00000110).

HTH

Mike.

thanks pommie i understand that bit now.ive moved on to the next project now which is to flash an led on and off,ive loaded the hex into the chip and tried to simulate it using proteus simulator but it doesnt seem to flash,also i cant understand why gp3 is high as i thought this is input only for 12c508a can someone have a look at the asm below and tell me what the problem might be,i would like to get this working so then i could change the values ie time delays so i could then understand how they work,thanks